MobileCoin Foundation

MobileCoin is a security-focused cryptocurrency launched on December 7th, 2020. Its initial code base was developed by MobileCoin Inc. and published by the MobileCoin Foundation with an open-source license (GPLv3).

MobileCoin Inc. was founded in 2017 by Josh Goldbard & Shane Glynn. It is a venture-backed company based in San Francisco, CA.

The MobileCoin Foundation coordinates and encourages a global community of developers working together to co-create the simplest possible encrypted payments network. The MobileCoin Foundation maintains the reference implementation of MobileCoin’s (the cryptocurrency’s) protocol, along with the ‘service-layer’ technology known as Fog that facilitates efficient use of MobileCoin in resource-constrained environments like mobile devices, without loss of privacy.

MobileCoin’s blockchain is a distributed system, and no individual or organization has control over the entire network, including the MobileCoin Foundation. Validator node operators and core developers also have an important influence on the blockchain.

Validators are the owners and operators of validator nodes that run the Mobilecoin blockchain. Transactions on the network are confirmed by consensus by nodes known as validators. The validator nodes in the network must be running compatible versions of software. Node operators rely on software developers (usually hosted on Github) to provide them with the software they choose to run.

Core Developers of the MobileCoin blockchain work on the software that implement that protocol. Developers have processes that are supposed to assure the quality of the software they release, and submit changes to the software through the MobileCoin Improvement Proposals. Changes to the software proposed by a developer must be approved by the MobileCoin Foundation’s Technical Committee.


Technical Advisory Committee

  • Konstantin Richter (Chair)  Person Icon
  • Sara Drakeley Hall Person Icon
  • Michael Rodriguez Person Icon

Policy Advisory Committee

  • Tony Lai (Chair) Person Icon
  • Tiffiniy Cheng Person Icon
  • Faisal Saeed AlMutar Person Icon




Trusted Nodes